Foodie

Time Out Top 100: no. 21 – Chiltern Firehouse

Name: Chiltern Firehouse

Number: 21

Date of visit: November 2016

Marylebone celeb spot is on the list. I wanted to come here mainly because of the whole ‘celebrity’ status and see what all the fuss is about. I’m not sure if I had higher expectations because of this, or if I just have high expectations in general, but I wasn’t that impressed when I came here. The service wasn’t great, we were left for quite a while before they came to ask us for drinks, then our drinks came in dribs and drabs, along with our food. It was a quirky decor and it didn’t seem as ‘stuffy’ as I had expected it to be.

The food was ok. I did take pictures when I came here but I’ve deleted them since then, which may be an indication of how un-special it was. Nothing was overly outstanding except for the crab stuffed doughnuts…they were delicious. I had a smoked mackerel dish for brunch which was full of flavour, but unfortunately I was left still hungry. One to tick off the list if you want the fame, but really nothing special.

Screen Shot 2017-08-06 at 16.03.14

*The August 30 – September 5 2016 Time Out London issue. The 100 best restaurants in London was printed in all its glory. I saw it as a challenge. I love food and I love lists. I took it upon myself to try and visit all these places on the list because this is also a good opportunity to try new and different places, and to visit parts of London I may never go to otherwise. It’s not going to be easy and I’m not giving myself a time limit (I mean, it’s an expensive pastime after all), I’m juts simply doing this because it’s fun. There are 100 of these places, so 100 reviews is quite time-consuming too so I’ll try to be brief about it. I’m following the list in PRINT and not online – the online list is ever changing and it would be near impossible for me to keep up with that one. I hope you enjoy it as much as me.

Leave a Reply

